Copiosis moneyless economy

Copiosis.com is a transitional economic model allowing for funding of beneficial activities and products that nobody wants to allocate money to in the current system. It allows this by separating money into “cost” and reward which is determined by a formula. Then you can for example provide food for free and still be rewarded and it could be safely created out of “thin air” without the drawbacks we have today.

I have created my own prototype implementation (Rust language) that I’ve been using for three years with few other households. It is not an online app at the moment. Download here.

There is another online implementation which has different transaction verification approach but that’s further from the original concept.

3 Likes

Looks cool! You’re obviously a great addition to the @it-team as well, you can add yourself in the group overview if you want. With that we can tag groups of people with a certain interest and skill. Which helps to facilitate e.g. projects.

2 Likes

A moneyless society, that uses money? I can definitely appreciate the attempt and transitional element of this, and support it’s development…but as of now, it doesn’t seem any better than the current system of Capitalism, to be frank.

Regarding the algorithms Copiosis describes for determining “value”, I do not find them universal, or to be modeling reality in anyway, just seems like arbitrary, personally assigned values, which is the same thing Capitalism does. Equations/algorithms are designed to express relationships between variables which I don’t see Copios’s algorithm conveying at all.

It doesn’t use money. It’s more like a voucher because it’s destroyed after use. But you also cannot transfer it and you cannot determine how much you would receive as a reward for your product as that is calculated by the formula. You can only set how many vouchers will the buyer need to spend for your product, not your own reward.