The sharing economy and the open organization

Learn how the open organization principles of collaboration and community align with the new rules of businesses based on social connection.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://opensource.com/article/23/4/sharing-economy-open-organization

I’ve been pondering on how to implement open source government using AI. Basically the rules of your system in a github/gitlab/git repo where everybody is able to see / fork / suggest changes / raise issues / etc. The rules of the system. AI in turn uses these rules.

1 Like

I’m not an AI professional, but I suppose the data which you use train the models also matter. If the data is very biased, then the AI decisions will be as well. It of course depends on which AI you’re building. If it’s one about managing a vertical farm, then the data input are sensors for temperature, moist, humidity and things like that. As long as the sensors are not faulty, the data is objective and true. But once you start processing a more diverse data pool, such as data about human activity, it may become more of a challenge to make “the right” choices for the AI model.

I suppose these are hot topics in the field of AI. Maybe there is already some related work about this.

1 Like

True, talking about vertical farming: how could we open source this?

1 Like

I’m currently working on a greenhouse in my backyard of about 2,5x6m which I plan to setup vertically using vermiponics (using worms: food scraps in, plant nutrients out). Ultimately regulating the greenhouse climate using RPi. And after that I could research and document using robotics and AI. That would be absolutely awesome :slight_smile: and totally up my alley!

1 Like

Maybe along these lines in the video below. Of course those vertical farms in your video are more industrial, that scale will be harder to achieve as a grassroots movement. But as a start these windowfarms can act as a stepping stone.